Oxbow Essentials rabbit food is one of the most recognizable pellets in the rabbit aisle: a plain, uniform, timothy-based pellet with no seeds, colored bits, or dried fruit, sold in 5, 10, and 25 lb bags. Vets and rescues often recommend it, and a quieter group of owners reads the ingredient list and hesitates.

This review covers what Oxbow Essentials rabbit food actually contains, how it compares with the House Rabbit Society’s diet advice, what owners complain about, and which rabbits should eat something else.

Quick Answer

  • What it is: a timothy-based pellet for adult rabbits over one year old, in 5, 10, and 25 lb bags
  • First five ingredients: timothy grass meal, soybean hulls, soybean meal, cane molasses, wheat middlings
  • Guaranteed analysis: 14% protein (min), 2% fat (min), 25% to 29% fiber, 10% moisture (max)
  • Calcium: 0.35% to 0.75%, which Oxbow calls the low end of most commercial foods
  • Label claims: no artificial preservatives, colors, or flavors, and 100% of daily vitamins and minerals
  • Biggest caveats: soy ingredients, molasses, not for growing or nursing rabbits, and some owners report picky eating

What Oxbow Essentials Rabbit Food Is

Oxbow Essentials rabbit food is the brand’s traditional adult formula. Oxbow describes it as Western timothy hay-based, and says its balance comes from soybean meal and soybean oil for protein and fat. Its own blog says the Essentials line uses traditional ingredients, in contrast to the garden-inspired Garden Select line.

It is made for mature rabbits, defined on the product page as rabbits over one year old. Oxbow says to feed it in addition to unlimited grass hay, which matches how vets describe a healthy rabbit diet.

Oxbow Essentials Rabbit Food Ingredients

The list below comes from Oxbow’s product page.

IngredientWhat It IsWorth Knowing
Timothy grass mealGround timothy hayFirst ingredient; the fiber base
Soybean hullsPlant fiberAdds fiber and bulk
Soybean mealProtein sourceHelps reach the 14% protein minimum
Cane molassesSweetener and binderFourth on the list
Wheat middlingsMilling by-productAdds fiber and energy
Sodium bentoniteClayA binder that helps pellets hold together
Soybean oilFat sourceSupplies the fat minimum
SaltMineralStandard in pellets

Reviewers also list lignin sulfonate, another pellet binder, plus added vitamins and minerals. Some owners on rabbit forums object to sodium bentonite and lignin sulfonate, but both appear as recognized binders in AAFCO’s defined ingredients, and both are widely used to hold animal feed pellets together and cut dust. That doesn’t make them necessary for your rabbit, but it isn’t a red flag by itself.

Guaranteed Analysis for Oxbow Essentials Rabbit Food

NutrientOxbow EssentialsHouse Rabbit Society Guideline
Crude protein14% min.Not specified
Crude fat2% min.Not specified
Crude fiber25% min., 29% max.18% minimum
Calcium0.35% to 0.75%Not specified
Moisture10% max.Not specified

The fiber figure is the strongest point. The House Rabbit Society says a good pellet should have at least 18% fiber, and Oxbow Essentials rabbit food clears that by a wide margin. Its guaranteed 25% minimum is useful because fiber keeps a rabbit’s gut moving.

How Much Oxbow Essentials Rabbit Food to Feed

Rabbit WeightDaily Amount (Oxbow)
1 to 4 lb1/8 cup
4 to 8 lb1/4 to 1/3 cup
8 to 10 lb1/3 to 1/2 cup
Over 10 lb3/4 cup

Oxbow’s guidelines run close to the House Rabbit Society’s advice of about 1/4 cup of pellets per 6 lb of body weight per day. Either way, pellets are a small part of the diet. The society says adult rabbits need unlimited hay and at least three types of leafy greens daily, so Oxbow Essentials rabbit food should be a measured supplement, not the main meal. Our guide on why a rabbit licks the carpet explains why hay matters for digestion and how to spot early gut trouble.

What Oxbow Essentials Rabbit Food Gets Right

  • Timothy first. The society prefers timothy-based pellets for adult rabbits, and this recipe leads with timothy grass meal
  • High fiber. A 25% to 29% range is well above the 18% minimum
  • Uniform pellets. One reviewer notes they prevent selective eating, so a rabbit can’t pick out the tasty bits
  • No seeds, fruit, or dyes. The House Rabbit Society says never to feed pellets with fruits, seeds, nuts, corn, or yogurt drops mixed in, and this isn’t one of those
  • Lower calcium. Oxbow says 0.35% to 0.75% is on the low end of commercial foods

Where Oxbow Essentials Rabbit Food Falls Short

The recipe leans on soy. Soybean hulls, soybean meal, and soybean oil all appear, and some owners prefer a food with hay-based protein and no soy. Molasses is also the fourth ingredient. It’s a binder and sweetener, and I couldn’t find how much is in the pellet, so an owner concerned about sugar should discuss it with a vet.

The other limits are practical. The formula is for adult rabbits over one year, so it isn’t suited to young, growing, pregnant, or nursing rabbits, according to a review that lists this as a con. And it’s not a fresh-food substitute: Oxbow itself says rabbits also need grass hay and fresh greens.

What Owners Say About Oxbow Essentials Rabbit Food

Feedback on Oxbow Essentials rabbit food is mostly positive, with a few recurring complaints. Reviewers praise the long-term health of their rabbits, and one review says a bag lasts about a year for an average rabbit. On the negative side, search results summarizing rabbit forum threads mention rabbits that sniff the pellets and refuse them, some owners finding clay dust or grit at the bottom of the bag, and a few reports of harder droppings after a switch. I couldn’t open those threads directly, so treat them as anecdotes, not proof.

If harder or fewer droppings ever follow a food change, don’t wait. The House Rabbit Society says a rabbit that stops eating or producing droppings for 12 hours is an emergency.

Oxbow Essentials Rabbit Food vs Garden Select

Oxbow’s own comparison says Garden Select is designed for pickier eaters, with garden-inspired ingredients and an herbal aroma. It adds several hay types (timothy, orchard, and oat) and is certified non-GMO, while Essentials uses a single timothy hay base and traditional ingredients. If your rabbit turns up her nose at Oxbow Essentials rabbit food, Garden Select is the obvious next step within the same brand.

Oxbow Essentials Rabbit Food Recall History

I didn’t find a recall of Oxbow Essentials rabbit food in my searches. That reflects what I could find, not a guarantee, so check the FDA’s recall list and the lot number on your bag before you buy. Retailer pages for price and review counts wouldn’t load for me, so check current pricing yourself.

Who Oxbow Essentials Rabbit Food Suits

Oxbow Essentials rabbit food suits a healthy adult rabbit that eats unlimited hay and fresh greens, and whose owner wants a plain, fiber-rich pellet without seeds or fruit. It’s also a reasonable choice if your rabbit’s vet already recommends it. If you’re still deciding whether a rabbit fits your household, our pet mammals guide covers what rabbit care involves.

Who Should Skip Oxbow Essentials Rabbit Food

  • Young, growing, pregnant, or nursing rabbits
  • Owners who want a soy-free food
  • Rabbits that refuse the pellets even after a slow transition
  • Rabbits with a diagnosed condition that needs a special diet, unless the vet approves
  • Anyone who hasn’t set up a rabbit-savvy vet, since diet questions belong there (our exotic vet in Tucson guide explains what to ask any clinic)

How to Switch to Oxbow Essentials Rabbit Food

Oxbow recommends a gradual four-week transition when changing foods. Start with a small share of the new pellet mixed into the old one and raise it a little each week. Watch droppings and appetite throughout, and keep hay unlimited the whole time. If your rabbit stops eating or her droppings shrink, stop the change and call your vet.

Oxbow Essentials Rabbit Food: The Bottom Line

Oxbow Essentials rabbit food is a plain, high-fiber, timothy-based pellet that clears the House Rabbit Society’s fiber minimum and avoids seeds, fruit, and dyes. It also contains soy and molasses, is meant only for adult rabbits, and won’t suit every picky eater. For a healthy adult rabbit that already gets unlimited hay and daily greens, it’s a solid everyday pellet. Check the bag’s label before you decide.

FAQ

Is Oxbow Essentials rabbit food good for rabbits?

For healthy adult rabbits, generally yes. It’s timothy-based, high in fiber, and free of seeds and fruit, but it contains soy and molasses.

How much Oxbow Essentials rabbit food should I feed?

Oxbow lists 1/8 cup for 1 to 4 lb, 1/4 to 1/3 cup for 4 to 8 lb, 1/3 to 1/2 cup for 8 to 10 lb, and 3/4 cup over 10 lb, always with unlimited hay.

Is Oxbow Essentials rabbit food good for baby rabbits?

No. It’s formulated for rabbits over one year old.

Does Oxbow Essentials rabbit food contain soy?

Yes. Soybean hulls, soybean meal, and soybean oil all appear in the recipe.

Has Oxbow Essentials rabbit food been recalled?

I found no recall of this product in my searches, but check the FDA’s list before you buy.

What is the difference between Oxbow Essentials and Garden Select?

Garden Select uses several hay types, is non-GMO certified, and is aimed at pickier eaters, while Essentials uses a single timothy base.


Recipes, prices, and labels change — check the bag in your hand and the brand’s website before you buy. This article is general information and not a substitute for veterinary advice. Last verified September 2026.